Grinch

It has been brought to my attention that I may be a grinch. For those of you that were neglected as children and have not read Dr. Seuss’ “How the Grinch Stole Christmas”, it is a story about how a disturbingly green furry monster tries to ruin Christmas for an entire town. The Grinch hates Christmas and all it stands for.

On some level I can sympathizes with the Grinch. The town did continually play Christmas music throughout the streets. And what’s worse is that Christmas is still on their minds the rest of the year. But this is where my sympathy ends. So does this make me a Grinch?

Well, I do hate my Christmas music. Ever since my days working at Canadian Tire having the same Christmas music on loop. Over and over again I heard “Little Drummer Boy”, “Momma Kissed Santa Clause”, and “Jingle Bell Rock”. It quickly became apparent that I had no love for these songs and what’s worse is that it turned me off Christmas music entirely.

The next problem I have with Christmas is when people start their Christmas cheer to early. I have no problem if you want to decorate your house, buy a tree, have gifts wrapped, listen to Christmas music or wear reindeer antlers while it’s still October, but don’t force it upon me. My Christmas starts in December or those late November days when the fist snow fall arrives. It is at this point that I start thinking about decorations and gifts, but still no music. I like to be finished exams and relaxed before I start thinking about my holidays. It is a time of peace and fun, so I like to be stress-free before I celebrate. So does this make me a Grinch? I don’t think so.

Let me end this by using my favourite quote by the Grinch: “Blast this Christmas music. It’s joyful and triumphant!”

Leave a Reply

