Procrastination

I started this school year the same as I have in the past: with drive and determination. I am going to be the best student I can be. I will buy one of those large fancy MSVU calendars that they sell in Rosaria bookstore, make a schedule, prioritize my time, buy all my course textbooks, read textbooks, study at least one hour a day, and go to every class.

This was my master plan and it was a good one. Except for one major flaw… I procrastinate. That being said, I am a good student, just not in September. I get good marks, perform all tasks required, participate in class, and meet every deadline. But I tend to make schoolwork harder on myself as I leave the majority of my work to be done in October. In all my school years I have yet been able to accomplish what I set out to do in September. I understand all the great reasons to do these tasks early but cannot bring myself to dedicate the time required. I blame this on the weather. Like most students, I spend my summer working away to earn money for the upcoming school year and had no real vacation throughout the 4 months of my internship with Kraft Foods. This left me with little time to enjoy my summer, especially since tuition was being hiked up 3%. So once my internship was over I had an overwhelming sense of freedom and desire to be out in the sun. I had also acquired a respectable farmers tan which needed to go. The only problem was that my internship ended on August 31 and school started on September 5. This left little room to experience the freedom I was looking for. So instead of accomplishing what I set out to do academically, I spent my early September surfing, playing tennis, drinking beers, mountain biking, swimming, hiking, and doing everything else I missed out on during the summer. I even took a trip to Cape Breton which was beautiful; the landscape and scenery is second to none in Nova Scotia. But once MSVU soccer season started I had to put all of these activities on hold. 2 hour practices 4 days a week and games on the weekend. Soccer just increased my procrastination. I wanted to spend as much time in the sun as possible before it got cold.

Well we’re into October and the weather is getting cold, which means it’s finally time to get assignments done, buy my MSVU calendar, make a schedule, prioritize my time, read textbooks, and study. I have had my fun and it was great. But now I need to buckle down, graduate, and spend more time outside next summer.

Leave a Reply

