iChris

I started this week on a high note. Last Saturday/Sunday, MSVU played against the two New Brunswick teams: Saint Thomas University & Saint John University. We tied our first game 0-0 and won the second 1-0. Considering last season’s results, this was a great beginning for our team. The only downside was that I spent my weekend (6am Saturday-9pm Sunday) on a bus. To say the least this was not very fun, but the good outweighed the bad in this scenario. So when Monday rolled around I was in a great mood. I went to class, talked to friends, bought course textbooks and decided to buy the Macbook Pro Retina 15″. This was a huge buy for me as I have never owned a Macbook before and more importantly, I have never owned a Laptop before… Shocking, I know. How have I made it 4 years into my university career without a laptop? It was done with dedication and a lot of wasted hours waiting for a computer to come available in the library or commuting back home to work on my  6 year old desktop. So when I finally opened the box to reveal my new Macbook Pro Retina I was excited. It was beautiful with its slim design, all-aluminum casing and it was inconceivably fast. But this is when I discovered that I did not know how to use Mac software. Luckily for me, as soon as I bought this lovely machine I got sick. While usually I would refer to being sick as a bad thing, this gave me time to get acquainted with my machine.

While this post is a rather boring one, I just wanted to put it out there that I still don’t really know what I’m doing with my Mac. The real challenge is going to come when I have to submit an assignment using “Numbers” or “Keynote” which are Apple’s “Excel” and “PowerPoint”. I know that Microsoft Office for Macs exist but I am much to broke to buy that. It came down to beer money or Office for Macs and beer money won. Image

Leave a Reply

